FORUMS: list search recent posts

sole event videographer compared to TV news show manpower and equipment

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Pat McParlandsole event videographer compared to TV news show manpower and equipment
by on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:00:12 pm

I would sincerely appreciate any thoughts you can offer on the below:

I recently started working for an employer (local Govt) for whom I'm to produce short videos featuring interviews and cutaways during the interviews.

My self-taught background is in wedding videography and short videos for small businesses.

The employer keeps reminding me how they worked for a large news television show for a number of years as a journalist, and how they 'turned around' news reports very quickly, edited on the same day they were filmed.

The employer applied pressure for me to complete a 2 minute video of an event in a matter of a few hours, and wanted it done "quickly" and told me to pretend I was working for the employer's previous TV news show. I completed the edit, but with more time it would have been of a much better standard.

I would like to put to the employer the following:

That in comparing my skills (background is in wedding videography and short videos for small businesses) and supplied equipment to those of trained crew and editors from a TV news show, they are not comparing like for like.

I'm not too 'up' on the equipment and staff used on such TV news shows but any info would be a huge help! --
What speed advantages in terms of equipment and manpower might a TV news show have over a guy using a cheap/awkward camcorder with no headphone socket for monitoring sound who has to transport the footage back to the office to edit on an iMac?