FORUMS: list search recent posts

What to do with dancing wedding footage?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Linda O'ConnellWhat to do with dancing wedding footage?
by on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:09:41 am

I am a newer wedding videographer..(4 years or so) in the past I have shot the ceremony and toasts and then I am done. Lately, I have been asked to stay longer to get everyone dancing/having a good time. However, what do I do with that footage? I have small segments of people dancing the chicken dance, hokey pokey, the YMCA... Do I take out the audio and use a different song to make it sound less choppy? Or is the average wedding videographer leaving it as is with just different songs coming in and out during the dance? What are others doing with all that footage? Thanks!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: What to do with dancing wedding footage?
by on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:29:28 pm

From a purely legal perspective, if you are doing this video for money, you're in violation of copyright if you leave in the original music without clearances and paying royalties. You don't have to like it, but that's the law as it is today.

That said, most of the low-end wedding guys just roll the dice and hope not to get sued, and montage the dance footage with the existing nat sound. Before the web, wedding editors sought safety in their relative obscurity; you don't have that protection today. Everything ends up on youtube at some point, and bots will quickly find music that wasn't paid for. What happens after that could be nothing much... or could end up in court. If you put scenes on your own web page "reel", better use cleared music only. That's the safest policy for you.