FORUMS: list search recent posts

Event filming etiquette

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Megan WelhamEvent filming etiquette
by on Feb 8, 2013 at 7:45:00 am

Hello!

I'm fairly new to event videography but I've filmed a few events and have struggled with some etiquette-oriented issues. I was wondering if people have techniques/advice/experiences/etc. regarding these issues.

I realize not everyone is comfortable in front of the camera, but is there a way/technique to prevent the subjects' awkwardly stopping conversation and looking into the camera?

Also, I've been shooting with a mark ii, which everyone assumes is for photography. People constantly stop to the side, expecting me to take my picture before they pass through the shot. I have to awkwardly wave them by. Of course I don't want them to ruin the shot, but for candid event videos, people passing through can be worked around. Is there a way to get by this?

Finally, I always feel like I'm barging in on people. I set up my shot and hold it for a while, occasionally changing lengths/etc. Is this a normal initial feeling that I will eventually just overcome with experience? Or am I perhaps actually not positioning myself right and, in fact, getting up in their faces too much?

Return to posts index

David EaksRe: Event filming etiquette
by on Feb 8, 2013 at 9:56:14 am

If you walk up to an unsuspecting group of people who are in conversation and point a camera at them, they are bound to look at you. If you setup on a tripod across the room and zoom in on them from afar they aren't so likely to notice, great for candid broll shots of people. It also helps give a shallower depth of field, if you want that.