FORUMS: list search recent posts

Issues recording Audio from live wedding band

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Reynaldo MartinIssues recording Audio from live wedding band
by on May 29, 2012 at 7:56:31 pm

I'm still relatively new to event videography and I ran into a problem during my last wedding when it came to recording audio directly from a live band's mixer.
I'm accustomed to recording sound from receptions that have a DJ where I'd plug into his RCA out (I think it's the "tape out" on his mixer) and run that to my mixer (for the purpose of adjusting the signal level which is usually too loud from the DJ), then connect my mixer to my Zoom H4N to get great sound from the speeches and dance music.
With the band, however, I was warned that I shouldn't trust purely the audio from their output because sometimes, not all instruments are fed to the mixer, or the balance of the mix heavier in the vocals. I was advised to combine my recording from their output along with a microphone recording from the room which makes sense, but here's the problem. The sound from the band's mixer was nowhere sounding good. I was plugged into her RCA tape out, and the sound had a ton of reverb applied to it that it sounded like a cave. We then tried the Headphones out, which sounded a bit more natural, but there was a crackle in the line that was heard sporadically. all I have to work with is the room recording from my Zoom's microphone along with a shotgun placed near a speaker.

Can someone please tell me the proper way to connect to a band's audio?

Thank you,
Reynaldo Martin

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Issues recording Audio from live wedding band
by on May 30, 2012 at 2:07:53 pm