FORUMS: list search recent posts

Need Advice for Event Panelist Audio

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick LundbergNeed Advice for Event Panelist Audio
by on Feb 2, 2012 at 10:09:35 pm

Hi all.

I've been making films since I was 16 and most of what I know is self taught. I've been to school and graduated but now I've found myself in a psuedo-internship role at a pretty pretigious non-profit in a weird transition phase that has resulted in a lot of changes in personnel. They put on regular events and they are looking to me to fix their trend of terrible video/audio coverage for these events.

They hate wired mics and mixing boards. These guys love streamlined, small setups. They want to avoid wires, and especially avoid hand held mics unless they have no other choice (and they are very convinced they do have another choice somewhere).

In their words, their ideal setup would be for each panelist (never more than 6) to have a wireless lav that transmits the signal to a receiver that can plug right into a laptop and record all the mics on separate channels simultaneously.

I know my knowledge is limited, but is that sort of setup even possible? And if so, where can I find the gear to do this. How do I do this? If I can figure this out, this place has some really tremendous opportunities in the not-to-distant future. You can see where I am going with this.

As a side not, they have one HVX right now, which I am very familiar with, but they want to have two cameras instead of one and are considering selling the HVX to go towards two lesser cameras. Does anyone have an alternative camera setup? I fear they are going to chuck a pair of Xacti's or something at me and that is the last thing I want.

Thank you for your time.

Return to posts index

Jonathan ZieglerRe: Need Advice for Event Panelist Audio
by on Feb 3, 2012 at 4:16:59 pm