FORUMS: list search recent posts

I'm great with my camera, I suck at marketing

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sebastian AlvarezI'm great with my camera, I suck at marketing
by on Jul 7, 2011 at 6:54:44 pm

I have very decent equipment (such as a Sony HDR-AX2000 among others), a very powerful computer with Edius and a GrassValley HD Spark card to monitor the editing properly, and a lot more equipment that I spend all my savings in. And while I'm just getting started, I've been producing video in one way or another for the past ten years, including a few corporate events for the organization I used to work for (even though I did them as a volunteer). So I have the skills to produce a very high quality product, both in DVD and Blu-ray, and the few customers I had are very pleased with my work.

The problem is, when it comes to promoting my business, I have no talent for that. I read these videographer forums and I see there is a lot of work in this industry, whether it's weddings, or corporate events, documentaries, commercials and many other things. But I have little or no clue how to get even a few customers every month to at least get started.

I have started my own website, I publish often on Craigslist and I took up a paid ad on, but I'm getting nothing. The visits tracker I put on my website shows that visitors are farther in between, and I get no calls.

I don't want to do just weddings (which unlike many videographers I enjoy doing), but also all types of events, such as corporate seminars, training videos, and school plays among others. The last thing I did was a dance recital a month ago.