FORUMS: list search recent posts

Need people's resume advice!

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dave Lozinski
Need people's resume advice!
on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:46:10 am

Hi everyone,

I'm needing advice/suggestions on how to word a resume to enter into the field of videography/video editing when I've never held an official position as such before (but have done lots of "side projects").

My background is I.T., and I'm basically looking for a career change to get more into the video production side of things.

I'd appreciate suggestions on how to go about wording such things as my "work experience", "objective", etc.

As a starting point, I currently have the following for an "objective". I'm not totally happy with it because I'd like to be able to take part in all aspects of putting together a video/movie, from brainstorming ideas to being there for parts of the shoot to actual video editing and post production.

A highly talented, energetic, and enthusiastic individual seeking to work as a Video Editor, where my creativity can be utilized to help tell a story while learning and growing in the industry.

Help! :-)

Thank you!

-----------------------------------------
http://www.davelozinski.com

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Need people's resume advice!
on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:09:33 am

You could just copy-paste your paragraph before the sample Goal Statement; it sounds clear and honest to me.

I am a fan of super-customizing each resume you hand out, so in that case the goal statement would also mention the prospective workplace by name and job. If it is just a place where you'd be happy to do literally *anything*, go with the more generic "putting my skills to use to solve various creative communications problems".