FORUMS: list search recent posts

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Omar PadillaAdvice
by on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:42:08 pm

Hi all, first i apologize for my enlglish i understand very well but i have problem when i try to say somenthing.

Im new in the video field,i just finish some courses on production and use of cameras. I want to offer new services for my clients in the town, and now i want to buy a new camcorder but i dont know what is the best, i have this 3 options:

1. sony HDR-XR550V
2. sony HXR-MC50U
3. panasonic HDC-HS700K

I ask for your help, to help me choose the best option and why, and if u know a better one in that price range just tell me, i know that you know a lot about this better than me, and i could not find anyone in my town who can help me. Thanks for all

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Advice
by on Sep 16, 2010 at 2:23:33 pm

Omar, describe with more detail the type of jobs you will do with the cameras, and we can give better suggestions.

Return to posts index

Omar PadillaRe: Advice
by on Sep 16, 2010 at 3:11:31 pm

Hi Mark, thanks
My primary goal is corporate videos for companies and on the other hand for events like weddings and graduations.

Return to posts index

by on Sep 16, 2010 at 5:03:35 pm

Of the three you listed choices 2 and 3 are the one I favor, though I might go another way than hard disk recording and AVCHD or H264 recording. Depends on if your editing system can natively work with the format, or will you spend a lot of time converting for the edit. That will be inefficient if you do a lot of weddings.

And I remain a little suspicious of CMOS chips regarding motion artifacts. In corporate work, probably not an issue, but for weddings, motion artifacts like the "jello wobble" could happen during dances at the receptions.