FORUMS: list search recent posts

Copyrighted music for a client's slide show

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kim TheoCopyrighted music for a client's slide show
by on May 23, 2010 at 5:36:12 pm

Hi there!

I'm kind of new to the whole "editing for profit" arena. I've done my own video editing for years, and I'm just now starting to branch out into editing other people's film.

I've been asked to put together a slide show for a couple's 50th anniversary by their children. The slideshow would be used solely for home viewing purposes. They've asked that I use several songs in with the slides, as they hold meaning for the intended recipients. Clearly, this music is copyrighted, but they are insisting that THESE songs be used.

My question is, is there any kind of verbiage that I can put in the contract that states that my client is liable for obtaining permission to use copyrighted material and that I accept no liability for the content? I know that this is going to be used in a private setting and the risk of it coming back to haunt either of us is unlikely, but nevertheless, I'd like to cover my own tail.

Thanks in advance for any advice you have to give!

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Copyrighted music for a client's slide show
by on May 24, 2010 at 3:32:40 pm

You answered your own question. How would you write that liability release: "I know what I am doing is technically against the law, and you know it is technically against the law, but it's all good 'cause you promised to cover me if anybody sues."?

Sure you can write that document, and they can sign it, but no judge is going to honor it.