FORUMS: list search recent posts

need advice for seminar taping

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gilles Gagnon
need advice for seminar taping
on May 4, 2010 at 2:40:46 am

Hello everyone,

I will be videotaping a seminar using 2 dvx-100s and only one operator, me. the seminar is 1 person, on stage. there is also a Q&A after. the entire shoot is about 2 hours.

I will be using a wireless lav mic.

This is my first time doing such a project and I'm looking for any advice/tips I can get to make the final product interesting and a success.

Thanks,
Gilles

Return to posts index

grinner hester
Re: need advice for seminar taping
on May 4, 2010 at 3:15:29 am

Sounds like you are already there. Lock down the wide shot the rove around as needed. If it doesn't matter if you are in the wide shot when you cut to it, just focus on your handheld shot while shooting. If it does matter, just keep that in mind as you rove around. Same with the audience. In some cases the video is more important than the audience so you ignore all and get the shot. In other cases, you have to be invisible. Communicate with the seminar dude for that feedback. As far as roving, don't rob yourself of a cutaway by walkin' while he's talkin'. Setlle in, frame him up then reposition as he changes chapters so to speak. You'll be able to feel that.

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on May 4, 2010 at 4:36:10 pm

How will you get audio for the Q and A? Suggestions: Put a separate mic on a floor stand and they have to walk up to it to ask the question. This also lets you set the mic where you will have a good, well-lit shot. If you can't do that, then get an assistant to walk a hand-held wireless over to each person with a hand up. Passing it like a hot dog at the park is not great but is also an option. Better than nothing is to use a good shotgun on a dedicated audio channel to pick up the questions.