FORUMS: list search recent posts

Annual Salary for Videographer/Editor

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachel KingAnnual Salary for Videographer/Editor
by on Mar 2, 2010 at 11:55:14 pm

I recently obtained a job as a videographer/editor for a popular Boston-based Entertainment company and need help with knowing what I should be asking for with my financial salary.

I graduated from Boston College in 2008 and this is my first "real job". I'm quite skilled in Final Cut Pro and all things MAC and editing and while I know I'm good what I what I do I really do not know how much I am worth/how much people in my position usually get paid.

I have been offered $41,000 per year for 40 hours a week of editing and creating DVDs of bar mitzvahs, weddings, corporate events and promotional materials for the entertainment company we're affiliated with. I will be getting paid separately for filming the events (around $250 per 4-5 hr event, about 20-30 per year).

I have previous experience through internships, part-time paid positions and freelance work but this is my first official "real" job in the production industry.

Can anyone tell me if $41,000 per year (not including the filming) is a good amount? I have no friends or family in the industry so I could use all the advice I can get! All guidance will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

R. King

Return to posts index

James DowRe: Annual Salary for Videographer/Editor
by on Mar 3, 2010 at 3:01:39 pm

I'm not familiar with the Boston market,and the cost of living, but it sounds to me like you got a pretty good gig for a recent grad. I don't know too many busy editors that work a 40 hour week. Are you going to be paid for OT?

Return to posts index

Jeff CarpenterRe: Annual Salary for Videographer/Editor
by on Mar 3, 2010 at 3:54:17 pm

I don't know that market either, but that seems reasonable given the type of jobs you'll be doing.