FORUMS: list search recent posts

College Football shooting. Advice?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trent WhittingtonCollege Football shooting. Advice?
by on Dec 13, 2009 at 7:51:05 am

Fellow COW Members, I would like your opinion/advice on covering a college football game for a major student project.

I am a 2nd Year Student; next year I am going to choose to do my major project for my digital television course on a college football game here in Australia. Australian gridiron is not broadcasted at all so my first reference goes to NFL and College football games.

As I will have about 8 months to prepare for the shoot I want to emulate exactly a NFL game such as on FOX, only instead of the giants vs. cowboys be two college teams. The gear at our campus doesnt allow me to switch it live as it only has 4 inputs. Not to mention replay, graphics etc.
All graphics and such will be added in post.

MAIN QUESTIONS:
1. How many cameras would you cover this minimum-maximum?
2. Would you ask commentators to do it live or in post?
3. How would you go about adding the line of scrimmage? I understand chroma-keying but it seems very difficult to get a good key on a football field. Any tips?
4. What broadcaster nfl graphics do you prefer? FOX? ESPN? NBC?
5. Can you suggest a place for the best sound effects and jingles for this type of thing

or is this being too ambitious?

Thanks for your time, any comments are greatly welcomed!

Trent Whittington - Currently studying Associate Degree in Digital Television

http://www.trentwhittington.com

Return to posts index

Peter RalphRe: College Football shooting. Advice?
by on Dec 14, 2009 at 3:30:56 pm

Too ambitious and not ambitious enough. For it to have any value you have to broadcast live.

Sports is one of the few bastions of high end production. High-end equipment, very experienced crews.

Peter Ralph

http://www.shootingbynumbers.com

Return to posts index