FORUMS: list search recent posts

short form wedding videos

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
john bilskishort form wedding videos
by on Nov 8, 2009 at 11:00:44 pm

ok. sorry to even ask such a dumb question but, ive been doing event video for 7 years, 80% bar and bat mitzvahs, 20% weddings (give or take through the years),anyway. we shoot journalistic videos, generally hour and a half 2 hours. well im getting burnt out pretty quick and as i see myself opening my own business i would like to offer short form, i love the cinematic value throughout the entire video as apposed to just in the brides house, pre ceremony, photo shoot and recap. my question is what to do with the reception. now im in the middle of one video where i have just been inserting popular music that i think they would enjoy, but im not sure if i should be putting music from the actual reception. i get the hole inserting of the toasts, vows, everything except for the reception. if you want to see what im talking about and see that im not just some idiot that is trying to learn how to edit here is a link to the video in progress.

please help me. or even just some tips for editing the reception.
thanks. john

Return to posts index

brian mackenzieRe: short form wedding videos
by on Nov 9, 2009 at 10:17:39 am

what i like to do is pick a slow song and a fast song, mixed in with the bouquet, garter, cake cutting, etc. i use natural audio from the reception only if it's something special. maybe something mixed up by the bridal party or something.

what i have started doing to shorten the length of the receptions is (where appropriate) put the cake cutting and the garter toss at the end, or beginning of one of the dance songs...that seems to work well for me

Unicycling Glidecam Operator

Return to posts index

Peter RalphRe: short form wedding videos
by on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:57:37 pm