FORUMS: list search recent posts

Pricing for an event

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rick Carhart
Pricing for an event
on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:14:30 am

Apologies if this is the wrong place for this post, but I couldn't immediately find anywhere more appropriate.

My daughter takes ballet lessons at a dance studio. The studio has an annual performance where there are 25-30 dances by around 150 dancers, lasting a total of 1-1/2 to 2 hours.

I am a TV news photographer, and am venturing into the freelance world, and I produced the video of this year's performance for a modest (okay, embarrassingly ridiculous) fee.

The owner has asked me to do it again next year, so my question is, what's a good ballpark figure to charge her? This year she sold 70 copies of the DVD.

Thanks for your help.

Rick Carhart

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
Re: Pricing for an event
on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:02:13 pm

Base it on the hours you're going to put in shooting and editing. Have you figured your day rate or hourly rate yet?

Return to posts index

Rick Carhart
on Oct 28, 2009 at 4:50:57 pm

So a full day rate for the shoot, plus 40 hours editing/copying DVDs, and then a per-DVD price as well. The owner charged her students I think $22 to buy the DVD. I believe I heard $9 a DVD is a reasonable price for me to charge. Sound about right?

Rick

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:59:19 pm

I would insist on a minimum paid per-order for any job like this, at least enough to make your expenses. What happens so often is that one or two folks buy the disk from you and then they pirate copies to everyone else.

I think keeping your per-unit price really low makes this much less of a threat, but still, if it was me, I'd need a deposit against such a potential loss.

You have to be able to make a profit out of this, or its not a business, its a charity.

Return to posts index

Rick Carhart
on Oct 28, 2009 at 6:49:40 pm