FORUMS: list search recent posts

A little advice re: Shooting HD/SD events

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt SepetaA little advice re: Shooting HD/SD events
by on Mar 2, 2009 at 9:04:56 pm

So.... My buddy just moved back from a job out east, where he had started a Wedding Video Production Company. He could not find anyone willing to commit to a startup project, but now that he is back, he has asked me to help due to my experience with graphics and photography, but I am not too experienced in video, especially industry standard (For my work I only produce web video).

We have two pairs of friends/acquaintances getting hitched late summer, and they have agreed to let us "Practice" on their two weddings, so we want to get this right.

With that out of the way, let me just ask a few questions...

I have never worked with HD footage, and we are definately going to try to use HD cams, maybe HVx or something similar.

Can my IMac handle that workload?
Its 2.8 ghz core 2 duo, 4 gb 800 mhz ram.

Having poked around these forums for long enough, I have read about different "boards". like Kona or black magic, what are the uses of these exactly? Are they more for broadcast standard stuff? Is it something we would need to look into eventually?

Furthermore; Has anyone heard of a service that provides Video/Photo/Music for events? Is that even a feasible bundle of services to offer, or do you think clients would rather have options for each aspect?

Thanks a ton!

-Matt S.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: A little advice re: Shooting HD/SD events
by on Mar 3, 2009 at 4:29:37 pm