FORUMS: list search recent posts

Wedding DVD, extra DVD's ???

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Trent WhittingtonWedding DVD, extra DVD's ???
by on Feb 26, 2009 at 12:23:02 pm

Hey COW's

I recently edited a Wedding DVD for a friend of a friend's about a month or two ago as a sort of wedding present for the couple, even though i wasnt really interested in doing it; I figured I could add it to my reel and gain some experience as I am a student. I finished the DVD and the couple were ecstatic with the result which I was happy because I put way too many hours into it then I should of normally but I was also learning 'Color' at the same time. Anyways I ended up giving them 8 copies of the wedding, as well as the Dvd's being printed on etc.

So Months have passed and only last week was I about to delete all the fcp project files, images etc. when the couple asked for another 8 copies (After failing at trying to burn it themselves)...by the way one should think; even a thankyou card or something for doing all editing, grading etc for free should of been the norm?

So my question is this: Should I give them 8 more FREE copies of the wedding even though I own all the footage, images etc.?
---Keeping in mind if they had a proffesional edit it Im sure it would of been in the $5,000+ range maybe more.

Trent Whittington - Currently studying Associate Degree in Digital Television

iMsc - 24inch 3.06Ghz, FC STUDIO 2, Adobe Production Premium CS4.
Asus eee - 8.9inch 1.6Ghz 1Gb Ram, Windows XP

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Wedding DVD, extra DVD's ???
by on Feb 26, 2009 at 4:24:37 pm

Give it to them. If you want more wedding business, happy customer referrals are your number one asset and source of additional gigs.