FORUMS: list search recent posts

wedding video questions

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Doug Lewiswedding video questions
by on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:15:47 pm

I posted this on Vegas Forum and thought I would post here, also.

I need some opinions of event videograpers. I have been doing wedding videos for close to 20 years. My son is going to get married in Alabama, this summer. I live in Ohio. As the father of the groom, I obviously don't want to be shooting the video, and I'm not sure I even want to take any of my camera operators or equipment down to shoot the wedding. What I would like to do is hire a wedding videographer that is local in Alabama, to shoot the wedding and give me the tapes. I could then do all the edit and production work. Does anyone see a problem with this? Am I going to have problems finding someone willing to do this? Just curious what you all think of my idea.

Also one videographer who my son has found, that they like, shoots at 24p. All of my cameras shoot at 30 fps, so I have never worked with 24 fps. What am I up against? Can I capture this video using either my Sony VX2100 or Canon GL2? Is the edit process the same? I am using Vegas 5 to edit. Can someone please give me some direction?

Thanks for your time.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: wedding video questions
by on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:00:19 pm

Your plan sounds good overall, you do not want to be shooting, you're an important, involved guest. The alternative is for you to bring along one of your trustworthy workers to shoot to your specs like any other job, and hire a local with his own gear as the second camera. That covers all the bases. If you just brought your own gear to loan to a local, they may break it, mess it up, or have an error from being unfamiliar.