FORUMS: list search recent posts

Handheld Techniques

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Bryan
Handheld Techniques
on Oct 19, 2008 at 4:34:56 pm

Hello,

I am a wedding videographer and just wondering if anyone has any suggestions for handheld techniques or links to sites with some techniques. My handheld is pretty good, but could be a little less shaky at times.

On a related note, what do you do during toasts etc? The weddding I'm editing now, had three toasts in a row, each toast was 10 minutes long! I ended up holding the camera for 30 minutes straight and then they went straight into father-daughter, mother-son dances! My arm was killing me by the end, and it shows somewhat in the video now.

Any help you can give is much appreciated!

Return to posts index

Rick Wise
Re: Handheld Techniques
on Oct 19, 2008 at 6:06:36 pm

One thing you can do to help the footage you've already shot is to buy the Mercalli stabilizing software for either $59 or $119, provided you are PC based. Works incredibly well. (http://www.prodad.de/gb/mercalli_std_details.html)

After that, in the future, there are various solutions: some people like to use a monopod which they can drop down for long takes (but it adds weight to the camera): some people invest in a shoulder-mounted camera; some people invest in various support rigs, the most thorough of which is the Easy Rig.

Rick Wise
director of photography
Oakland, CA
http://www.RickWiseDP.com
email: Rick@RickWiseDP.com

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Oct 19, 2008 at 8:57:36 pm