FORUMS: list search recent posts

wedding video rate

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Taylorwedding video rate
by on Sep 19, 2008 at 4:56:00 pm

Hey I was hoping some one could give me a spectrum of reasonable rates editors make editing wedding videos. I am just starting out as an editor and have been given an opportunity to edit a wedding for another editor.

I get the feeling that he may be trying to take advantage of me and I just wanted to know from low to high what an editor might expect to earn cutting a wedding.

Other info on the job is it is his brother's wedding he has been putting off. The editor used to work for a wedding video company doing weddings when real jobs were slow and said if I do a good job he'll talk to the company and try to get me in there.

Return to posts index

David TaylorRe: wedding video rate
by on Sep 20, 2008 at 3:40:52 pm

Return to posts index

Rick WiseRe: wedding video rate
by on Sep 20, 2008 at 4:54:41 pm

You are starting out, it seems. Take what they give you this time. See how fast you are, and how good. If you are both fast and good, probably next time you can ask for a little more. And now you will have a demo to show to prospective cleints. Work your way up. Don't kill the golden egg -- though there's mostly alloy in that egg, not much gold.

Rick Wise
director of photography
Oakland, CA

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: wedding video rate
by on Sep 20, 2008 at 6:41:19 pm

One thing to know: any time somebody says "cut me a beak on your rate for this one, and you'll get all my subsequent business", they are lying. I have NEVER seen this come true in over 20 years.