FORUMS: list search recent posts

Wedding video editing HELP

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John StapletonWedding video editing HELP
by on Aug 26, 2008 at 4:42:58 pm

I have been a wedding photographer for 30 years. Recently my brother in law and his wife have gotten in to the event videography business. Mainly weddings. He purchased very good professional Sony cameras, MAc computer and for what he knows, the best editing software. They produce an excellent final production but they are miserable because it is taking them nearly 100 hour to edit a 6 hour, two camera, wedding and reception. I know they are making no money with that much time in post production.
In my business, going digital many many years ago, required a great learning curve to find an excellent work flow. But I finally got one and life has been very good since then.
First, how much time, as a very rough estimate, should it take to edit a wedding as described above?
Then, where can they turn to learn a functional workflow that will still give them the ability to turn out an excellent video but in a fraction of the current time they are taking in editing?
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Wedding video editing HELP
by on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:40:21 pm

We have to ask where all the time is being spent. Are they first loading all the tape from both cameras into the editing system in real-time, logging every shot as they go? For 6 hours on two cams, that's about two days work just loading footage, not making a single cut yet. You can work smarter instead of harder.