FORUMS: list search recent posts

How to break into shooting sports?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
beau brothertonHow to break into shooting sports?
by on May 22, 2008 at 4:55:00 pm

Hello to all,

I'm a FCP freelance editor in Houston and I shoot as much as I can when I'm not editing (Church training videos/weddings on my HVX200). This extra gigs help with bills, but I would love to get into shooting sports.

Just to throw it out there, is anybody shooting any sports? If so, what types of end product? ie, scholarship videos for individuals, How to training videos, review footage for teams and coaches, etc?

I did a search and couldn't find a thread about getting new business in the lower budget sporting arena. I would love to shoot the NBA, but I'm sure I need to start a bit smaller. Scholarship spots would definitely let me be creative (of course I do know that this needs experience and don't want to ruin a kids chances of college b/c of me).

I'm experienced enough technically on what to do. This is mainly a thread that I thought about on the business and marketing side of how, who, and what kind of marketing I should contact for this. I assume that I should do some free what for my demo reel.

Anyway, I've talked enough, I'll throw it out to the COW and see what you think.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Beau Brotherton
Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Intel Core 2Duo, 4GB

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: How to break into shooting sports?
by on May 26, 2008 at 8:56:51 pm