FORUMS: list search recent posts

Corporate Events Video--Just getting started

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian McKennaCorporate Events Video--Just getting started
by on Mar 7, 2008 at 7:48:46 pm

I am using Final Cut Pro and AE for video editing and graphics on my Macbook Pro. Up until now, I have edited existing videos. And I know where to get existing stock footage.

Now, I need to perform interviews with executives and public relations officials for our corporate events. The videos will be placed on a web platform only.

I am looking for any advice what type of camcorder I should use? I am looking for a camcorder that is less than $1,000. If the company decides to continue this, we may jump up to a higher end camera. But for now, what are the things I should look for when I search for a less expensive camcorder? On this, I am a complete novice. Most of the interviews will take place inside so lighting will be a factor.

Second, for audio, what type of microphones would you recommend? And how would these microphones work with the camcorder?

Return to posts index

Rennie KlymykRe: Corporate Events Video--Just getting started
by on Mar 8, 2008 at 1:10:50 am

For web video , quality of video is not an important factor but audio will be.

Given that good audio will use balanced lines you should look for a camcorder that can input XLR audio inputs and can be white balanced. A used Sony PD-150 or 170; Canon GL or XL1; Panasonic DVX100 are all good choices. It's a shame to buy SD cameras in these times but for your budget and needs these dv cams will be simple and effective.

Wired lavs like sony ecm-77 are good. Wireless mics are nice but cost money and since you may need to mic 2 people at the same time the wired lavs are cost effective. If you have to mic more than 2 people at once you will need an audio mixer and more mics or some boom mics.