FORUMS: list search recent posts

Sony HVR-Z1U vs DVX100A

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alichekSony HVR-Z1U vs DVX100A
by on Nov 10, 2007 at 6:55:36 pm

Hi,

In a few weeks I will be shooting a wedding for the first time ever. I have a choice of shooting it with either of the two cameras mentioned in the subject heading. I have plenty of experience with the DVX but the cost of getting the Z1U would be minimal. The drawbacks are that i don't have much experience with it and I don't own an HDV deck so I would have to spend the night digitising off the rental camera.

I would go with the DVX but I'm concerned with shooting in low light. I hear the SONYs are good for that.

Would anyone have advice on this?
Thanks.

Return to posts index

Rick WiseRe: Sony HVR-Z1U vs DVX100A
by on Nov 11, 2007 at 9:01:22 pm

I think you'll find the DVX100a has better low-light performance than the HDV Sony you mention, or any other HDV prosumer camera. If you had a choice of the Sony PD-150 or pd-170 or the consumer version of those cameras, dcr-vx2100, these would probably give you even better low-light performance. All of these, of course, are SD, not HDV cameras. For the moment, low-light takes a hit in HDV. However, to compensate somewhat, if you boost the gain +3 or even +6, the HDV cameras remain surprisingly low-noise.

But if you are distributing your video via DVD, you are forced back to SD (for the moment) and so there is no advantage in shooting HDV, or so it seems to me.