FORUMS: list search recent posts

New to event video production & need advice

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
prairiestormNew to event video production & need advice
by on Feb 10, 2007 at 5:15:41 pm

I have been taking photos and some video highlights of many of our local high school and community events for the last few years (my wife is a teacher and former coach). I have recently been asked to videotape a local showchoir competition and make the video available for competition review (immediately following each performance) as well as possible purchase by interested parents. I am new to this so I need some help...

I just purchased my second Panasonic AGDVX 100A via ebay for multi-camera captures such as this last fall, now I need to figure out the best way to record/switch live. In the past I've recorded all video on each camera and editing later. However, this can become quite tedious in post production (I use FCP).

Would any of you have ideas/suggestions on a two or three camera setup to record a live events such show choir and high school plays? I am good on camera's and tripods, just need to know where to go from there and don't have the luxury of a very large budget.

Thanks much!

Return to posts index

ThaxRe: New to event video production & need advice
by on Feb 11, 2007 at 7:32:33 pm

Focus Enhancements/Videonics:

And the best of the bunch ($$$), DataVideo:

Google "video switcher" or "Video mixer" for more.

Return to posts index

Doug GrahamRe: New to event video production & need advice
by on Feb 12, 2007 at 6:49:36 pm

One of my colleagues makes a very good living by using multiple camera live switching to make videos of recitals, plays, and other events. His biggest selling point is that DVDs are available right after the performance. He brings a duplication tower to the event, and is all set up to dub the master tape (which is recorded from the output of the switcher) to DVDs.

Doug Graham