FORUMS: list search recent posts

Plugging into a sound system?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
aprildentistPlugging into a sound system?
by on Jan 22, 2007 at 9:59:06 pm

Pardon my novice question, but I'm an editor not a shooter -- a band would like me to shoot them at a club and would like me to hook into the sound system so that the audio is fairly good quality (at least better than using the on-camera mic). How do I do this and what accessories do I need?

I'm using a GL2 and can get another camera to dedicate to audio if necessary. Any advice or tips on resources I can check out online?

Much thanks!
Saya

Return to posts index

zrb123Re: Plugging into a sound system?
by on Jan 23, 2007 at 5:30:46 am

That all depends on the sound system, I always like to go check out the venue before the actual shoot, not only douse it let me know exactly where its at and how long it takes to get there so I am not late but then you can also find out what exactly you need to bring to get the job done right.

Return to posts index

Doug GrahamRe: Plugging into a sound system?
by on Jan 23, 2007 at 3:16:12 pm

Check to see if the band's mixer has a mic level output you can use. If not, you will need audio attenuators, or "pads" between the line level mixer output and your camera's mic level input. You will probably have to have some adapters, too, to get from the mixer (XLR or 1/4" jacks, usually) to the camcorder (XLR or stereo minijack).

Good sources of adapters, pads, and cables include Markertek, http://www.markertek.com and Radio Shack.

Regards,
Doug Graham

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Plugging into a sound system?
by on Jan 23, 2007 at 5:24:16 pm