FORUMS: list search recent posts

15" or 17" MBP

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
cowboyneil15" or 17" MBP
by on Jan 4, 2007 at 12:53:56 am

Hi, I am trying to decide on whether I should purchase the new 15" or 17" Macbook Pro to use as a portable editing studio. I will run the following software on it: Final Cut Suite, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Kinemac. Will the extra 40gb give me any advantage (With both models I will be using an external HD to store source video footage)? Does the bigger screen make that much of a difference when editing video or is the 15" good enough? I would rather get the 15" because I am on the road a lot but if the 17" is that much better then I would be willing to schlepp it around.

Return to posts index

topher944Re: 15" or 17" MBP
by on Jan 4, 2007 at 1:12:08 am

I have no personal experience with this myself, BUT, I was standing in an LA store that sells a lot of Macs to the industry and overheard the manager and a sales person talking about which model should be in the displays - and I quote "Nobody buys the 17s, they're just too big to travel with". I would imagine they have their finger on the pulse. Personally, I could use the larger screen to help organize bins and files but i do hate schlepping equipment (cameraman for 10 years). Congrats on the pending purchase and Kind Regards, Chris K.

Return to posts index

Art Z AngelRe: 15" or 17" MBP
by on Jan 4, 2007 at 7:15:22 am

We have owned both the 15" and now a 17". I never understood the traveling = smaller screen paradigm (unless you want to opt for the MacBook). The 17" goes in the same case we had for the 15". Hardly takes up any more noticeable room than the 15"... the 17" is 1.3 inches physically wider than the 15". But the extra screen real estate is well worth it.

Return to posts index

Doece25Re: 15" or 17" MBP
by on Jan 4, 2007 at 5:42:41 pm