FORUMS: list search recent posts

Just starting out... must be Wedding Videographer?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Derek JohnsonJust starting out... must be Wedding Videographer?
by on Oct 18, 2006 at 5:36:12 am

I need help.

After over 15 years of running AV departments in hotels, I decided to freelance and specialize in video. For the past two years, I had been moonlighting, writing and producing short films with my DVX100a, DV Rack, a cheap light kit, and editing with Vegas and Premiere Pro.

I begged one of the best production houses for an internship. After working alongside the best of the industry for a few months, I realize I'm a novice. I can't edit for Cartoon Network, shoot for the CBS Sports, or pre-light a set for a commercial... yet.

Is the best (only?) serious option out there for a guy being a Wedding Videographer? I want to work for MYSELF, make a living, invest in more gear... and get better every year.

I've shot a couple of weddings. Rather do corporate type stuff. What is out there to pursue?

Return to posts index

Doug GrahamRe: Just starting out... must be Wedding Videographer?
by on Oct 18, 2006 at 2:00:45 pm

Wedding video is by no means your only option -- and if you don't like it, then you shouldn't try to force yourself into that mold.

Believe me, there are a lot of shooters and editors out there doing corporate work who couldn't get a job with CBS or Cartoon Network either. People who have far less experience than you are billing themselves as video professionals, and are making a living at it.

But, as the Wizard said to the Tin Man, they've got one thing you haven't got...an ego. Work on that self-confidence.

Keep right on interning...or at least learning. Keep right on moonlighting. One of these days, you're going to find you no longer have time to get it all done, and that's when you quit the day job and go full time freelance.

Return to posts index