FORUMS: list search recent posts

waveform monitor and vectorscope

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
mateobishopwaveform monitor and vectorscope
by on Jun 6, 2006 at 6:29:29 pm

Hello all!

I have been in a business for a few years but have really been learning as I go and mostly self taught. I have started to really focus on my production quality and making things as good as possible. I have recently run into a few articles and such on waveform and vectorscope usage with video and am looking for more info. I basically know nothing about how these work with video and how I am to use them, what to look for, so on. What exactly do these do and how do you use them to get the best picture you can? Any tutorials, articles, info on this would be greatly appreciated. I am also looking for one that would work well as a software plugin. I'm assuming the external hardware monitors are very expensive. Any ideas, suggestions?

Thanks for any info!!

Matt

Return to posts index

mateobishopRe: waveform monitor and vectorscope
by on Jun 6, 2006 at 6:31:16 pm

by the way I am on a PC using sony vegas and all adobe products.

Return to posts index

drumrobRe: waveform monitor and vectorscope
by on Jun 6, 2006 at 6:58:05 pm

Tektronix is the major manufacturer of waveforms and vectorscopes. I believe they have some tech info on their website about how to use them. Other than that, I would just Google for tutorials. Btw, Adobe Premier Pro has a waveform built in so you don't need to get extra software plug ins for that one. Don't know about Vegas.

Have fun!

Rob

Return to posts index

Peter RalphRe: waveform monitor and vectorscope
by on Jun 7, 2006 at 12:33:34 am

Very simply a waveform monitor represents exposure and a vectorscope color. Neither of them are essential on a shoot unless you have control over the lighting - although they can be useful to match cameras and maximize dynamic range.