FORUMS: list search recent posts

iRiver (or any other external recorder) help please

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
TheBtrainiRiver (or any other external recorder) help please
by on Jan 24, 2006 at 10:51:43 am

Hi all,

Here's my dilemma...

I'm a wedding videographer and need to record audio from a wireless lapel mic (Sennheiser ew-112). Up until now, I've hooked the mic receiver up to an old DV camera and recorded the audio to tape - clunky, I know - but it's done the trick up until now...

I decided it was time to purchase an external recorder and after hearing so much about iRivers, purchased a T30 1Gb model. I've just experimented with it and after dumping the audio tracks to PC it is extremely quiet - almost inaudible - even at the highest "Line-in volume" setting of 31. Having just done some poking around, I've discovered this to be a common complaint with users (isn't hindsight a wonderful thing?).

Obviously this unit will be totally unacceptable for it's intended use, and I'm resigned to the fact I now have a shiny new "rose red" mp3 player...

My question is, what are people using to record external mic sources? Seems like people are recommending the iRiver 799 and 899 for this kind of thing, but I'm a little hesitant to rush out and buy another iRiver without knowing if it's going to be suitable or not. The other thing is, they appear to be discontinued and the newer models don't offer this feature - why, I don't understand?

I'd like to know what fellow videographers are using and recommend - whether mp3 recorders (and if so, which models?), minidisc recorders or any others...

Next wedding in <2 weeks so would like to find a solution ASAP. Thanks in advance!

Return to posts index

MatteRe: iRiver (or any other external recorder) help please
by on Jan 24, 2006 at 1:48:27 pm

Any recording unit you buy MUST have a MIC LEVEL input.