FORUMS: list search recent posts

stabilizing system or monopod?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
elstultusstabilizing system or monopod?
by on Nov 20, 2005 at 10:00:38 pm

I'm just getting into wedding videography. I have a GL2 based setup. One camera is tripod mounted and I'd like to use the second as a "floating" camera. Any suggestions as far as going with a stabilizing system (glidecam, steadicam, etc.) or just a monopod? Thanks much.

Return to posts index

Doug GrahamRe: stabilizing system or monopod?
by on Nov 23, 2005 at 3:58:38 pm

The monopod is by far the cheapest solution. By holding it gently just below the mounting plate, you can also use it as a kind of rough-and-ready "stabilizer" as well.
It can also be used as a handheld "crane" for overhead shots.

The next step up might be a VariZoom "FlowPod", a monopod with a built-in gimbal so that it is also a stabilizer.

A FlowPod, or any handheld stabilizer, is heavy and hard to shoot with for long. If you do a lot of moving camera work, you might need to move up to a vest-and-arm type system. These are much more expensive ($2,000 to more than $25,000) but take the weight of the rig off your arm and wrist.

Doug Graham

Return to posts index

elstultusRe: stabilizing system or monopod?
by on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:07:39 pm

Thanks Doug, I'm looking into the FlowPod.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: stabilizing system or monopod?
by on Nov 24, 2005 at 5:22:10 am