FORUMS: list search recent posts

Bridal show help

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Doug LewisBridal show help
by on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:59:49 pm

I did a search but did not find any info. Maybe I did something wrong. Anyway, here is my situation. I have been doing wedding videos for about 17 years. It has always been part-time, extra money. A few years ago I moved to three chip cameras, computer editing and started an LLC, basically made it a "real" business. My goal for 2006 is to start the process of taking my small part-time business up to full time employment. Since most of my experience is in weddings, that is the area I am looking to expand. I am planning on having a booth at 2 different bridal shows, in January.

My question is, what things do I need to hand out? Flyers and printed info only, or in addition demo DVDs? What can I expect from the attendees? Mostly questions or actual bookings? Just looking for advice. Thanks.

Return to posts index

Jeff CarpenterRe: Bridal show help
by on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:34:36 pm

In my experience, the people who attend the shows remember VERY little of what they see. They're just overwhelmed with information. Because of this, you have two goals:

1) Put something, anything, into their hands. Some kind of half-sheet flyer is good. I'd go for glossy, color printing. It's more expensive, but the way people are going to call you is when they're shifting through tons of papers later that weekend and they come across yours.

2) Be as friendly as possible. Hopefully you can make enough of an impression that they'll remember you for the next 18 hours and think about how nice you were when they find your flyer later that night.

Of course, you have to have a demo running at the show just so people know your videos look nice. They won't actually JUDGE the video, it just answers the question "Should I take a flyer from this guy?" That's ALL the demo has to accomplish.