FORUMS: list search recent posts

Sony dsr 250 or Panasonic dvx 100a

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
kefar
Sony dsr 250 or Panasonic dvx 100a
on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:07:53 pm

Hello all -

I'm an experienced editor looking to start my own company. I'm trying to decide on a new camera. I think I've narrowed it down to either the Panasonic dvx 100a or Sony dsr 250. I've used the panasonic before and I love it but it only takes minidv tape (80 minute tape). The dsr 250 can take dvcam (3hour tapes).

So if I shoot a wedding or long event I'll have to make a tape change in the middle. I'd really prefer the Panasonic but I'd hate to run out of tape in the middle of a ceremony...does that make sense?

Can anyone share some advice, Pros or cons, experiences with the cameras. I know they both have 1/3 ccd's so the quality should be the same...right?

Thanks a lot!

Return to posts index

Matte
Re: Sony dsr 250 or Panasonic dvx 100a
on Aug 14, 2005 at 11:50:33 am

[kefar] "So if I shoot a wedding or long event I'll have to make a tape change in the middle. I'd really prefer the Panasonic but I'd hate to run out of tape in the middle of a ceremony...does that make sense?"

Using a FireStore (or similar) FireWire HD ("tapeless aquisition") record unit would allow you to record up to the limits of the drive in the unit you chose to purchase.
http://www.focusinfo.com/products/firestore/fs-4.htm

Or, there's always the technique of connecting a second camcorder via FW to the FW output of the first camcorder.
At approx. the 1-hour mark, you'd just put the second camcorder into the record mode and it would continue on the second tape for another hour.
This method will work with ANY FW camcorder, even an inexpensive "home video" 1-CCD type.