FORUMS: list search recent posts

WEVA Expo 2005

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike SullivanWEVA Expo 2005
by on Aug 3, 2005 at 3:34:27 am

I have been doing mostly legal video work for the last 12 years. I would like to get back into doing some different kinds of event video stuff other then weddings.

I have never been a WEVA member, nor have I ever been to a WEVA Expo, but I would like to get some feedback on those who have gone and what you've got out of them. Do you think I would find the expo worth the time and cost as more or less a new event videographer?

Mike Sullivan

Return to posts index

David Chandler-GickRe: WEVA Expo 2005
by on Aug 3, 2005 at 5:10:18 am

To answer your specific question, yes. Being "new" you can be a dry sponge and absorb so much...

As time goes on, you'll find more "been there - done that", but by that time it's no longer so much about what you can learn as much as what you can experience. (And no. I really cannot explain any better than that.)

For me, it's about meeting with friends and colleagues. It's about sitting in on some new speakers and the tradeshow.

I'd like to go every year, but as it is, I go about every other and Vegas bores me. Between PPA, WPPI and WEVA, I've had enuff of Vegas for several years. I don't miss it when I don't go (even if I do miss my friends). If WEVA went back to the rotating city schedule they used to be on, I'd probably go more often.

David Chandler-Gick
Dynamic Media Group (
a deveraux film (
Event Video COW Moderator
Contributing Editor eventDV magazine (

Return to posts index

Ralph HajikRe: WEVA Expo 2005
by on Aug 5, 2005 at 5:33:49 am

Hi David,