FORUMS: list search recent posts

Looking for some thoughts...

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
bas98Looking for some thoughts...
by on Jun 28, 2005 at 7:36:10 pm

I'm a newbie in this whole videograpy racket, and I've got some simple, beginner questions. First of all, I record videos for my company. Not only do I record large events in conference rooms in hotels, I also film training videos within our office (usually one or two person interview formats). Currently I'm using a couple of Sony DCR-HC30's directly into a LaCie Bigger Disk (500GB), that is being run off of a Powerbook G4 with 2GB of RAM. I've been using iMovie to capture the video and just recently I've begun playing with our copy of Final Cut Express to edit. We've started shooting more of the training-type videos, and our president is wanting to make our videos become more professional looking, with more stunning detail, graphics, and transitions. With this in mind, our IT Manager and myself have contemplated upgrading to newer hardware and software. We were thinking of going to something along the lines of a Canon XL2 or the Sony HDV, a lighting kit, a mixer, a couple wireless mics, and hopefully Final Cut Studio or Pro. As well, in order to accomodate the functionality of Final Cut Studio or Pro, we'll most likely upgrade to a Power Mac G5 with more RAM and more powerful capabilities. Now, the question that I have is what should we buy? I can look at equipment all day on the web, but that doesn't mean that I know which ones are better. In order to make our videos look moderately professional, what hardware and software do you suggest? Our budget can be pretty large, but at this point we're not sure. With that in mind, we don't necessarily need the top of the line, we just want something more substantial than what we currently have.

Barry Sutherland

Return to posts index

Jeff CarpenterRe: Looking for some thoughts...