FORUMS: list search recent posts

When shooting a Wedding over 60 minutes?

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ralph HajikWhen shooting a Wedding over 60 minutes?
by on Jun 19, 2005 at 9:26:14 pm

Hi Videographers,

I'm fairly new to the business of videography. I would like to know what do you do when the Wedding Ceremony is longer than the 60 minute tape you have in the camcorder. I like to set up a tri-pod and start recording a few minutes before the ceremony starts and keep recording to capture from the front side of the alter (45' angle)as the groom meets the bride. Then use a second camcorder to take angle shots. But what happens when your #1 camcorder at the alter runs out of tape. I was told that it's best to record in standard mode instead of LP mode. Any comments will be very much appreciated.

Ralph Hajik
Westmont, IL

Return to posts index

Jeff CarpenterRe: When shooting a Wedding over 60 minutes?
by on Jun 20, 2005 at 1:32:33 am

Is this DV?

You can buy an 83 minute DV tape.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&...

The tape is a little thinner so they can fit it all in there. You shouldn't use them as master edit tapes because of that, they may wear out faster over the years than a regular tape.

But I've used a ton of them as shoot tapes and I've never had a problem. It's certainly a lot better than shooting in LP mode.

Return to posts index

Ralph HajikRe: When shooting a Wedding over 60 minutes?
by on Jun 20, 2005 at 5:51:58 am

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the information. That will ework just find. Another solution is to invest in the FirePro so I can record tapeless.

Ralph Hajik
Westmont, IL
Canon GL2

Return to posts index

tomRe: When shooting a Wedding over 60 minutes?
by on Jun 20, 2005 at 11:32:55 am

one of the reason I use a Panasonic DVC200, can shoot up to 3 hours

good luck

Tom

Return to posts index