FORUMS: list search recent posts

Wedding video questions

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
DaveCWedding video questions
by on Jun 19, 2005 at 4:05:22 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm primarily a still wedding photographer, but have done some wedding video on occasion. I really like shooting and editing video. Seems like the next logical step after shooting images that don't move. I have thought about making movies and music videos and commercials (I have a couple of commercials in mind for the limo company I work for).

I do some work for another wedding studio (primarily stills, but some video). At one time I was going to eventually take over the studio for the owner who wanted to retire, but because of philosophical differences between us, it most likely won't happen. He has asked me to shoot video for him on occasion over the years and I have enjoyed it. He was using Sony Hi-8 cameras and had a hodge-podge of decks and mixers and title makers, etc. He says he could edit a one or two camera shoot in ten hours without anything fancy. Fifteen if he got creative. Then I convinced him to go digital. We got a Canon XL1 and a dual G4 Mac w/2GB of ram and a 750 GB hard drive space(4 drives) and FCP 3.2. I just recently shot a video and have started editing it. I have spent over 10 hours just capturing to hard drive. Log a few clips and batch capture.....

I guess my questions are these:

How long should it take to edit a one to one-and-a-half hour final video (using three hours of tape from two cameras)?

And the BIGGIE: