FORUMS: list search recent posts

DV Rack and Weddings/Events

COW Forums : Event Videographers

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chad Eller
DV Rack and Weddings/Events
on Apr 7, 2005 at 8:04:34 pm

I'm a newbie event videographer and recently purchased Serious Magic's DV Rack software. I really like the straight to laptop recording feature but I mainly purchased it to help set up my camera for shoots (Iris, white balance, focus) and have a field monitor/laptop.
On the Serious Magic Forum I got feedback that being tied to the laptop while trying to shoot the wedding was not a good idea. I can see the reasoning but would still like to at least set up the main shots such as the vows.
Has anybody used the software while shooting weddings and can you give me and input, advice, observations.
Im also looking for a laptop, initially I was looking for something very small with a long battery life, but now that Im not dead set on shooting the whole wedding through DV Rack I am considering a larger screen laptop, something I could show clients demo work with also. Any recommendations in this area would be appreciated also.
Thanks,
Chad Eller

Return to posts index

Aanarav Sareen
Re: DV Rack and Weddings/Events
on Apr 7, 2005 at 11:32:03 pm

Don't have any advice regarding DVRack, but have some info regarding the laptop:

How much is your budget? If you can afford anywhere close to a $1500 laptop, I would highly reccomend the Dell Inspiron 9300. They currently have a $800 off $2000 coupon for the 9300. Take a look at http://www.slickdeals.net for the coupon code. This laptop has a 17inch screen and is a powerful system overall. (I use this as my editing system) If you are looking for a 15inch model, take a look at the Inspiron 6000d. A little more portable than the 9300, but not nearly as powerful.

Return to posts index

Matte
on Apr 7, 2005 at 11:36:57 pm

Computer screens are simply not the same contrast or resolution as NTSC or PAL video monitors.