CREATIVE COW: Feedback Forum About Us Contact Us Support Articles

please stop the animated ads

COW Forums : Letters to the COW Team

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Eric Nelsonplease stop the animated ads
by on Jan 23, 2010 at 3:35:33 pm

Dear Friends,

I'm pretty new to CreativeCOW community. Wow those animated ads are annoying. Please make them stop. I'd like to read more postings because I learn a lot, but after a minute or two I just have to close the window to stop the noise.

It's a dichotomy, really... the creative community you would expect to have the highest ad standards in fact has something else.

Anyway, it would be great if you could change the ad rules...

Thanks & best
Eric

Return to posts index

Ron LindeboomRe: please stop the animated ads
by on Jan 23, 2010 at 4:45:10 pm

Sure, Eric, we will just start telling the advertisers that their ads are ugly, their agencies do crappy work, and that we don't want them anymore.

Then, I will drive up to San Francisco and just unplug the near-half-million-dollars worth of web servers, load balancers, routers, file servers, ultra high speed drives and solid state systems, etc., that the advertisers have helped us pay for -- which drives this whole thing and makes all this content available for free. (Not to mention the pipe that serves up between 17 to 30 terabytes a day of information, videos, tutorials, podcasts, demo reels, music videos, etc., etc. We'll remove the ads if you want to pay for it all.)

Most people we have talked to and surveyed, don't mind the ads. Many tell us that as long as they are pertinent and relevant to what they do, they are okay with them. Some have even told us that they learn things from the ads, as they discover new tools and ideas they were unaware of.

Some hate them.

But without them there would be no site.