APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Convert or compress mxf files for easier use in FCP

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

Cherin Bower
Convert or compress mxf files for easier use in FCP
on Jan 6, 2017 at 10:32:17 pm

This is my first post and I am new to editing, so bare with me....I shot 4 TB of footage on a Sony PXW-z150 4K XDCAM camcorder mostly in 4k, and I am combining multiple clips in FCPx 10.3.1. The native mxf files are too large for import to FCP and I don't necessarily want to create proxy media for every clip. I prefer to "copy files to library" on import into FCP so I will end up creating large FCP libraries. I'm not too concerned about storage space, but I am concerned about FCP crashes, which I've already experienced in the first two minutes of creating my timeline. I can play each original mxf clip using VLC, but I am unable to scan through the clip to see what is in the video to decide if I want to import to FCP for use, playback is slow and jumpy even though I have a new imac with a fast processor. I ran all 4 TB of footage through compressor and lowered the bit rate just to be able to view the clips quicker in Quicktime. I have now been convinced to re-compress all 4TB of footage in compressor using "4k sharing services" to downsize the original but have a usable clip for editing in FCP. This is ok, except there will be a loss of quality (which I am ok with some, remember I want smaller clips to work with) BUT to compress in compressor I have to import all 4TB of footage into FCP (left files in place on import for this purpose) and manually click on each clip individually, go to file>send to compressor then start a batch. I have spoke with the Apple pro team and Compressor won't except mxf files directly (and I have tried). This is labor intensive and I have already done it to all 4T