APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Allow me to introduce myself... and a bit of NLE history.

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X Debates

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

David Lawrence
Allow me to introduce myself... and a bit of NLE history.
on Jul 5, 2011 at 8:15:01 pm

Hello Fellow FCP Enthusiasts,

I've been a member of The COW Community since 2005 but only recently filled in my profile and started getting active in these forums. Nice to meet you all.

By way of introduction, I'd like to share a document I co-authored in 1987 when I was a designer/producer/researcher at Lucasfilm Ltd. It is the functional spec for what would arguably become the world's first database managed, object-oriented, non-linear editing system.

http://www.propaganda.com/xTV_Production_System.pdf

This document was a deliverable for our partner/client, Apple Computer, Inc. It was part of a research and production collaboration between Lucasfilm, Apple and our third partner, The National Geographic Society. The purpose of the collaboration was to design the future of digital media experience as well as the tools to create those experiences. We targeted education and built with the most cutting edge hardware technologies we could get our hands on at the time. We developed and grew this system over a roughly thee-year period and I used it to produce actual products that were sold nationally.