APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Re: Autodesk Smoke is changing. Everything.

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X Debates

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

David Jahns
Re: Autodesk Smoke is changing. Everything.
on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:08:28 pm

funny - I started this same thread on the Smoke forum and only got one comment - should have known this would be the place for speculation and chatter! ;-)

I've been using Smoke-Mac for about 6 months as a Color/Finish tool in a shop with 10 edit rooms (currently Avid 5 and FCP 7 - hoping CS6 is great), and I've gotta say that the learning curve for Smoke is pretty steep. It's quite a reminder of how similar most Mac/Windows programs are - the metaphors and organization Autodesk uses are completely different than what you're used to. Once you get it, it's pretty awesome/powerful, (and could be even more awesome with some improvements) but the idea of switching a facility to Smoke as a primary editing tool?

It would need a MAJOR overhaul to fit that bill - interface, cost, SAN architecture, etc...

Well, let's see what the big news is - but I doubt it would make sense for most places. With the XML/AAF conform, why do you need to edit in the same tool as you finish?

For short projects with a quick turnaround, it might make sense to skip the conform step, but I can't imagine doing a large project, and sorting through hours and hours of footage and with Smoke would be more efficient than an Avid/FCP 7.

Just not sure "more editing centric" is good enough for most editors to make such a major switch...

Personally, I would love to see

1) some Lustre integration (or at least g-masks in the Color Warper secondaries!),
2) Are re-think of the Editdesk/Library relationship, and of course,
3) we'd all love Batch FX... (or at least Batch Export from the Library)

We'll see on Sunday!