FORUMS: list search recent posts

Re: Multiple lapel lav mics & interference

COW Forums : Event Videographers

VIEW ALL   •   ADD A NEW POST   •   PRINT
Respond to this post   •   Return to posts index   •   Read entire thread

Jeff Pulera
Re: Multiple lapel lav mics & interference
on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:40:42 pm

I have to stick up for Eric and say Peter, you don't need to be rude if someone uses methods you don't approve of. You're certainly entitled to your opinion as to why you believe one method might be better than another, but you can lose the pompous attitude.

I've been a wedding/event videographer for 20+ years, and pocket recorders are extremely commonplace, and reliable, for that market. I used to use a wireless mic on the groom for years and years, and I lost count of how many times I'd have clean audio (monitored via headphone) all the way up until the moment the vows are about to start, then the static would kick in! It was like Murphy's Law or something. And I cannot stop the ceremony to do anything at all about it, so being able to monitor MEANS NOTHING at that point. I had many, many vows recordings ruined due to wireless issues. And of course one has to make sure that their frequency will not interfere with one being used by the church, etc. Not to mention FCC spectrum changes a few years ago which makes my existing investment in wireless mics illegal/obsolete.