So I've been filming more and more with my HD Handycam, and I'm noticing my hard drives are filling up with huge HD footage from previous projects now. Projects that I'd like to backup, but don't necessarily need taking up so much space right now.
So I'm wondering, if I delete the converted footage but keep the FCP project file along with the original AVCHD files saved as a dmg on my hard drive, would I be able to restore the project somehow? Or will every single file need renaming upon transferring even the 2nd time round?
They'll obviously exist (albeit 'offline') in my saved project file, so I wondered if there'd be a kind of magical time saving mid ground between re-transferring and reconnecting the footage, ie. choosing, naming, in + our points, bin storage etc.
Hope my question makes sense :)
Thanks in advance of any wisdom