You know, I did not.
Now when I attempt to do so I am unable, message tells me there is nothing to deactivate.
I had pulled the drive from the old Mac and did data transfer from that.
It did not occur to me it would be necessary under those conditions.
Perhaps booting externally from that old drive would allow me to deactivate ...?