I was just looking through a catalog that someone had just finished adding data. I was making corrections, hitting save as I went. I hit save and KABOOM. All the files and data were gone. There was no undo.
I looked in the Audit Log and it shows a simultaneous "publish changes" and "Delete clips" at 13:33:36.
Is there a way to find back-up files on the server somewhere?
Hmm, that sounds odd, so I don't know what would have happened there. You mean the application itself crashed? Make a copy of the CatDV Error Log and backup from Home > Library > Logs (if you're on a Mac, or inside your local appdata folder on Windows). Also, please save a copy of the server log and send them all to email@example.com. If you deleted clips on the server (for whatever reason) they should have been saved to the recycle bin. I'm sure the media files themselves won't have been deleted.