FORUMS: list search recent posts

Resolve 14.0.1: wipe to gallery still changed???

COW Forums : DaVinci Resolve

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael McCune
Resolve 14.0.1: wipe to gallery still changed???
on Oct 22, 2017 at 4:57:46 am

Previously used this helpful wipe function for image color matching and other comparison chores. Now black replaces the expected gallery image used for comparison.

Has this wipe function changed in rev. 14??? The wipe function seems to split the screen as expected but the half normally occupied by the gallery still is black. The wipe function itself works, either in horizontal, vertical, mix, etc. But all show color black instead of the gallery image.

Base case: grab a still to either the PowerGrade bin or the Stills bin, select the wipe icon in the upper left of the Viewer; the split screen appears as expected but no gallery image, which is replaced by color black.

Also, found that --after trying the base case above--toggling off the wipe icon fails. That is, selecting this previously selected and highlighted icon again should toggle it off. But the wipe remains unchanged in the Viewer and the wipe itself (with the black portion replacing the comparison gallery image) also remains unchanged.

But click elsewhere on the Viewer pane, for example, click just under the wipe icon and the wipe function then successfully toggles off and the View pane shows the full original image.

Tried various things such as using different gallery stills, trying to reset the wipe function by selecting other of its various modes, such as horizontal, vertical, etc., but no joy.

The Resolve 14 Reference Manual has a brief mention of this basic function but no clues there jumped out.

The wipe function seems to have lost its pointer to the gallery image, yet the gallery images, some old and some new, do indeed show normally and as expected in the gallery bins where they are selected for use by the wipe function.

Any thoughts??? Gotta be missing something. Perhaps a new rev. 14 change???

Thanks, Mike


Return to posts index

Marc Wielage
Re: Resolve 14.0.1: wipe to gallery still changed???
on Oct 22, 2017 at 6:07:52 am

I suspect you have lost the set up link to your gallery cache file. Set that up again in System Prefs -> Media Storage and make sure the drive location is valid and permissions are OK. I can tell you the wipe does work and just clicking on/off (command-W) does work just as with previous versions of Resolve.


Return to posts index

Michael McCune
Re: Resolve 14.0.1: wipe to gallery still changed???
on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:01:14 am

Marc; yes, you were correct in pointing to the link to the gallery folder.

Gallery file corruption actually seems to have been main culprit. In fact, the next morning the entire drive was not recognized by Windows. I use Hard Drive Sentinel to monitor drives and it said it was fine though windows could not read it (???). In fact the *drive* was fine but it failed trying to run some read/write tests.

Short story, most all files could be copied off that drive except the gallery folder, some files of which could not be read. This may explain Resolve showing gallery stills though the wipe function did not work (black replacing any gallery image).

So, rebuilding and re-linking the gallery folder seems to be the fix. We will know soon!

Thanks again, Marc.
MIke


Return to posts index

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
© 2017 CreativeCOW.net All Rights Reserved
[TOP]