FORUMS: list search recent posts

how do i delete projects and user

COW Forums : Autodesk Smoke

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anhtu Vu
how do i delete projects and user
on Nov 30, 2010 at 2:54:28 pm

just starting to get my head around Smoke's way of doing things. Anyways, how can i delete my projects and user ?? Thanks



Return to posts index

Grant Kay
Re: how do i delete projects and user
on Nov 30, 2010 at 4:31:11 pm

Hi,

There are two ways to delete projects and users.

1. When you start the software
2. inside the preferences menu.

I'll tell you the first method.

When you launch smoke you come to the project/users start up screen where your make you selection.
1. Select the project you want to delete
2. Press the EDIT button to the right of the project name.
3. Inside the project setup menu, you will see a button on the left of the inferface called MODIFY PROJECT. It should be a blue button.
4. Click on the this button and choose the DELETE PROJECT option.
5. Press Delete project

This will delete the project and you just have to confirm the deletions.

The same applied to the user - deleting through the user setup menu.

Hope this helps.

Regards
Grant

Check out my Flame and Smoke blog at http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/discreetuk


Return to posts index

Anhtu Vu
Re: how do i delete projects and user
on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:48:31 pm

Thank Grant for the reply,

When deleting the projects, Smoke asks if i want to delete clips and set up, which i said yes....Does this mean all media belonging to this project is deleted ??? If this is the case then what happen when you have several projects sharing the same media ?



Return to posts index


Grant Kay
Re: how do i delete projects and user
on Dec 1, 2010 at 9:43:59 am

Hi,

When you are sharing the same media across multiple projects, Smoke will not delete the media until every instance of the media is deleted.

So for example, clip A exists in project 1 and 2. if you delete project 1 than Clip A will still be available in project 2. If you deleted both projects than clip A will be completely deleted.

You will still get the delete media message when you delete a project because more than likely there will always be some media that only exists in the one project specific to that job.

Hope this helps!

Regards
Grant

Check out my Flame and Smoke blog at http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/discreetuk


Return to posts index

Ashley Stiebel
Re: how do i delete projects and user
on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:37:16 am

Hi,

It is still not clear from this post. Does Smoke delete the original quicktime file that you use in FCP and Colour if you hit delete media?


Return to posts index

Brian Mulligan
Re: how do i delete projects and user
on Feb 15, 2013 at 3:46:09 pm

No it will not delete your original media as Smoke was just referencing that media. It only deletes renders and cached media and any locally generated media.

Brian Mulligan
Senior Editor - Autodesk Smoke
WTHR-TV Indianapolis,IN, USA
Twitter: @bkmeditor


Return to posts index

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
© 2017 CreativeCOW.net All Rights Reserved
[TOP]