ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Lighting for greenscreen

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sterling
Lighting for greenscreen
on May 28, 2003 at 6:45:03 pm

This forum is great. My question is: I am just beginning to do some greenscreen work and I am working with MiniDV. I just ordered a Rosco green fabric background and I was wondering what is the best and least expensive way to light it. I am on a limited budget. Thanks for your help.
Sterling

Return to posts index

Steven Bump
Re: Lighting for greenscreen
on May 28, 2003 at 7:10:35 pm

As long as none of your foreground actors is wearing a bright white (bounce back) and stands far enough away from the screen, the rest of it is common sense stuff (mute your lights to try and keep the green color even therefore being easier to key, etc.)

-sbump@websterdg.com

Return to posts index

Sterling
on May 28, 2003 at 7:22:29 pm

So regular work lights would do the job?

Return to posts index

zanian
on May 28, 2003 at 7:22:33 pm

1. light your actor and screen separately
2. beware of spill (green hitting actor) use flags or aim the light differently
3. back the screen up as far as possible, if possible put it out if focus
4. if your actor has fine hair, gel it, or better yet put a hat on him!
5. do not underexpose the greenscreen, that will introduce more noise
6. have an idea what you want to put behind the actor, light accordingly (meaning if it is supposed to be dark don't overlight your actor or screen)
7. sometimes a keylight can be your friend to separate the actor from the screen. This is an aesthetic choice though.

Basically common sense stuff but it is amazing how many crappy screens I get.

As for keying DV that is a whole other issue. There are some formulas in this forum that have worked great for me. Do a search.

Return to posts index

Todd
by
on May 28, 2003 at 8:00:20 pm