Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
INDIE FILM AND DOCUMENTARY:Indie Film and Documentary ForumIndie Film and Documentary Tutorials

How do I begin to tackle this Documentary edit in FCP - naming conventions

COW Forums : Indie Film & Documentary

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Gedi GrudzinskasHow do I begin to tackle this Documentary edit in FCP - naming conventions
by on Nov 18, 2011 at 2:14:19 pm

Hello there,

I have to start this query by explaining that I am an inexperienced editor who has managed to gain work on a rather large indie documentary that has not hit the edit yet. Essentially I'm jumping in the deep end.

OK, so I have 2tb of BPAV footage to deal with all numbered in chronological order. There is also a large amount of DV footage and a chunk of .mov files that were converted by a previous editor.

There is a series of locations, characters, themes and dates to think about.

There is also a variety of footage from silly stunts (the lead reporter is quite quirky) to serious interviews, to voxpops, to debates, to various cutaways etc.

Now I'm receiving "scripts" from my boss, with sections of transcription outlined, but not actually linked to timecode. These scripts will each deal with a different location she shot in or interviewed in.

The method she wants to use is to tackle each location or character that way, by outlining a script in a table, with highlighted sections of transciption. So essentially tackling one section of footage at a time. These scripts link to transcriptions which link to the numbers on the BPAV rushes and previously converted .mov files etc.

Then she wants to break the edit of the footage into several "themes" and have several editors dealing with each theme.