Creative COW SIGN IN :: SPONSORS :: ADVERTISING :: ABOUT US :: CONTACT US :: FAQ
Creative COW's LinkedIn GroupCreative COW's Facebook PageCreative COW on TwitterCreative COW's Google+ PageCreative COW on YouTube
APPLE FINAL CUT PRO:HomeFCP ForumFCP XFCPX TechniquesFCP TutorialsFC ServerBasics ForumPodcastFAQ

Trouble recognizing Canon XHA1

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Share on Facebook
Loretta WilsonTrouble recognizing Canon XHA1
by on Oct 18, 2009 at 7:56:12 am

Hi,

I have been capturing HD footage for almost 12 months from a Canon XHA1 in to Final Cut Pro 6. All of a sudden FCP isn't recognizing my camera. Usually a reboot would solve this problem. I have tried a SD tape in the camera in a SD DV PAL project to test the firewire connection and it works fine.

The only settings in the camera's signal setup are:

TIME CODE
PLAYBACK STD (Grayed out but set to HDV when firewire is unplugged)
COMP OUT
AV - DV - off
HD DOWN CONV (Grayed out but set to OFF when firewire is unplugged)
LETTERBOX

If I change AV_DV to on, the deck is recognised but I get the following message when I hit capture now:

"This operation could not be completed as there is no video."

Found another Post on the subject and followed the instructions to no avail.

Re: frustration with capturing and canon
by Brett Nelson on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:53:41 am

Jessica,
Here are steps that I think someone posted here a long while back. They have worked for me:

for HDV capture:
1. You FIRST need to disconnect the FireWire cable, then put your camera on VCR/Playback mode.

2. Click on the menu button and go to SIGNAL SETUP. (Since you do not have the FireWire cable plugged in, you can NOW change 2 important settings needed to import HD footage).

3. Under SIGNAL SETUP, scroll down to PLAYBACK STD. Click on that and make sure the HDV is set. NOT the AUTO, it most likely will not import under AUTO. Once the HDV is set, you're half-way there.